Michael Botur author updates
Bloodalcohol: Stories by author Michael Botur
9. Racing Hearts - body horror - read by the author Michael Botur
0:00
-1:02:42

9. Racing Hearts - body horror - read by the author Michael Botur

Two hearts, too competitive. One horrifying outcome.

‘RACING HEARTS’

A medical horror

We call it the Airing Cupboard: the South Auckland chapel where I counsel former doctors suspended for breaking down on the job.

You see, I'm a screw-up just like them. I'm on probation from the hospital’s Review Board and I don't know if I'll ever be allowed to walk the wards as an anaesthesiologist again.

It’s because I raced too hard and I fell. Fell in love with a doctor as competitive as me. And we both fell in love with danger – until one of us fell in too deep....

Story 9/10 from the collection BLOODALCOHOL: TEN TALES (Next Chapter 2023)

Enjoy the author reading the story here on Substack, or check out

YouTube

Spotify

iTunes, iHeart Radio, Deezer and more

https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/michaelbotur/racing-hearts-body-horror-from-the-collection-bloodalcohol-ten-tales?utm_campaign=website&utm_medium=Email+&utm_source=SendGrid

Discussion about this podcast

Michael Botur author updates
Bloodalcohol: Stories by author Michael Botur
Horror stories.
Dirty realism.
Poetry.
Flash fiction.
Award-winning writing from Aotearoa New Zealand.
www.NZshortstories.com